Silvermine Arts Center begins 2019 with New Members Exhibit featuring 42 new artists

Silvermine Arts Center will begin 2019 with a New Members Exhibition featuring 42 new artists juried into the nearly 100-year-old Silvermine Guild in 2018. Their work, which spans a wide range of artistic disciplines, will be on view through Feb. 6. The public is invited to an opening reception on Sunday, Jan. 13 from 2-4 p.m.

“This exhibition showcases Silvermine’s newest members’ exploration of materials, arresting captures of nature’s forms and patterns, vibrant use of color and light, and singular re-imaginings of the figure in sculptural and painted form,” said Roger Mudre, Gallery Director at Silvermine. “We’re delighted to welcome such a strong new group to the Guild.”

Criteria for members of the Silvermine Guild of Artists include excellence of technique; cultural or social relevance, clarity and continuity of style, and professional accomplishment. These artists have exhibited their work regionally or nationally. They join a distinguished group of professional artists comprised of over 300 members who work in a wide array of media and are represented in prestigious museums and private and corporate collections.

The majority of new Guild members are from the Northeast (New England and New York’s tri-state area). Silvermine welcomes these artists, whose names follow in alphabetical order:

Mark Andreas of Stamford; Gianluca Bianchino of Little Falls, NJ; Debra Bilow of South Salem, NY; Gilbert Boro of Old Lyme; Nancy Breakstone of Westport; Tracy Burroughs of Redding; Alexander Churchill of Norwalk; Susan Clinard of New Haven; Pam Davis of Rowayton; Elysa DeMartini of Stamford; David Dowler of Corning, NY; Laure Dunne of Norwalk; Hans Fischer of Ridgefield; Nathaniel Galka of Mount Kisco, NY; Miranda Girard of Trumbull; Martha Ives of New York, NY; Paul Eric Johnson of Stafford Springs; Niki Ketchman of Westport; Renee Khatami of New York, NY; Audrey Klotz of Weston; Ron Lake of Westport; Liz Leggett of Westport; Susan Leggitt of Norwalk; Ralph Joseph Levesque of Higganum; Day Moore of Milford; Cynthia Mullins of Ridgefield; Jill Parry of Mamaroneck, NY; Justin Perlman of Bethel; Penny Putnam of Greenwich; Jon Puzzuoli of Norwalk; Jennifer O'Connell Reid of Wilton; Janine Robertson of Madison; Nan Runde of Hartford; Ingrid Scheibler of Newton Centre, MA; Rosalind Shaffer of Weston; Vicki French Smith of Darien; Susan Sommer of Accord, NY; Sofie Swann of Stamford; Mary Tooley Parker of Yorktown Heights, NY; James Von Klemper of Darien; Lisa DeLoria Weinblatt of Bayside, NY; Christa Whitten of Suffield; and Jennifer Whitten of Ringwood East, Victoria, Australia


Follow Books, Ink HamletHub